Facebook Funk

It was enlightening to read an article called, “Why Fans Un-friend Your Brand on Facebook” by Ann Marie Kerwin.

Check it out here: http://adage.com/article/special-report-social-media-guide/fans-friend-brand-facebook/229824/

One issue brought up is that Facebook is reducing the advantages of having a business page by regulating Timeline posts from friends and forcing them to spend money to make their posts more frequent and successful. Who want to pay for their advertisements? NO one. So how would I change my posts to grow my Facebook audience you might ask?

Kerwin states that a top reason for loss in brand followers is disinterest. DDB even states that the United States, United Kingdom, and France want to hear less marketing and have already stopped liking pages on Facebook.

Personally, this stands out to me that our communities are tired of the same marketing tactics where it seems like companies are just trying to sell something to the world. Kerwin exclaims that 21% of fans agree that they are receiving too may advertisements.

My suggestions are to be engaging, timely, and friendly in your posts. These can all be achieved while being top business owners of companies because the best way to reach out to your audience is to relate to them.

To be engaging is to be creative and think outside of the box. One aspect I try to even remember with this blog is to write on topics that are relevant to my audience are what they are going through in this day and age. All in all, this translates to keeping up with popular topics and catching a consumers’ eye with media content like pictures of videos. Remember that consumer control the world of social media. So while you can still be yourself or your business, it is important to cater to your audience’s needs and attention span.

Second, I would remain timely. I even suggest keeping videos to at least a minute in length so that busy consumers feel that they have the time to watch your content. Being timely also means staying up to date with your posts. According to the 36 Rules of Social Media, a social media aficionado should, “update your page or delete it”. I take this as showing how quickly your content can become old. Just because you post frequently does not mean at odd hours or too often. Keeping posts to popular times like on the weekends when people have free time is important in showcasing what message you are sending to your consumer. However, they do not want to be bombarded with information either so I would keep is concise and to the point.

Since you do not want to bug your audience so much that they unfollow you, I always try to write in a manner that reaches out to them personally. Whether it be how I sign off on my posts, a picture or whatever you make of it, I will add my special bit of creativity and a component that touches my audience.

If you find yourself in a social media funk, I hope you can reference this post to remember to keep your Facebook posts fresh by being engaging, timely, and friendly.

Leave a Reply

