Strawberry fields forever

Hey ladies!

Whether you celebrated “Gal”entine’s, with a significant other, or family I hope I find you enjoying that 50% off, post Valentine’s day chocolate. This week I have an awesome find for YOU.

This holiday can be wonderful and a pain because it brings about those extra calories we do not want. According to Anisha Batia on NDTVcooks.com, “every year nearly 8 million candy hearts are produced” for stores across the nation. However, I have found a tasty alternative snack that can still quench your sweet tooth.

Many may cringe at the sight of fruit but one way to make this semi-sweet snack healthy is baking them in the oven with NO additional ingredients. For those of you stuck on love, I highly recommend trying strawberries. They taste like candy but are healthy and natural.

Here’s the kicker, they are even quick to prepare too. Being a busy working woman, trying to finish school means we need all the time we can get. All you have to do are these simple steps:

  1. Pre heat oven to 210 degrees
  2. Buy strawberries
  3. Cut into slices
  4. Put on cookie sheet
  5. Cook for 3 hours

large

Voila! A new face of the fruit we all know and love.

If this just is not for you, I have a few other strawberry suggestions up my sleeve. You can make a breakfast pancake by simply adding banana, an egg, cinnamon, and strawberries. Another great idea is doing the classic strawberry smoothie with banana, greek yogurt, chia seeds, and almond milk. Finally, an all time classic with few calories is dipping your strawberries in a dash of cool whip.

I know I am definitely working on my post Valentine calorie fix and will get back into my healthy routine in no time. Although that does not mean I cannot do it with a little flair. Next week, I will have a new focus plaguing young college women, and entrepreneurs in Albuquerque.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please feel free to comment on this post.

-H

Leave a Reply

